City GuideJohnson County, KS

Best Dog Parks in Johnson County, KS (2026 Guide)

Shawnee Mission, Heritage, Stoll, Kill Creek Streamway & Leawoof: full rules, hours, and amenities for every verified Johnson County off-leash dog park in 2026.

September 1, 2026 · 12 min read

Best Dog Parks in Johnson County, KS (2026 Guide)

Johnson County gives dog owners a genuinely useful mix of huge, free county off-leash areas and one well-kept city park, spread from Indian Creek in Leawood out to the streamway at De Soto.

This guide compares every verified public dog park in Johnson County. We built it from official Johnson County Park and Recreation District (JCPRD) and City of Leawood Parks pages, county news, state health and tick guidance, Reddit threads on r/Olathe, r/kansascity, and r/Overlandpark, and current public reviews on sites like BringFido, AllTrails, and Google-syndicated listings, not from a site visit. Where an official source was silent or out of date, we say so and tell you who to call to confirm.

Below: quick picks, full park profiles with hours and fees, a permit guide, seasonal safety notes, leashed-trail alternatives, and an FAQ. Tap any park card for the full profile: hours, fees, rules, and directions, plus each park's official website for maps and closure updates.

Quick-Pick Recommendations

These picks reflect what's documented in official sources and public reviews, not a site visit.

  • Best for swimming: Shawnee Mission Park's 44-acre off-leash area is the only Johnson County park JCPRD describes with a paved trail to a lake and beach for dogs. It is also the largest
  • Best for small dogs: Heritage Park (new 2.9-acre small-dog area, late 2025), Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park (1/3-acre small-dog area), and Leawoof (separate small-dog field, historically for dogs under 25 lb). Shawnee Mission Park and Kill Creek Streamway do not have official size-separated yards
  • Best free option: all five parks in this guide publish no entry fee or membership. JCPRD still requires current vaccinations with visible tags; Leawood requires vaccinations plus a license from the city where you live
  • Best Overland Park option: Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park at 12500 W. 119th St. is the verified fenced off-leash area inside Overland Park city limits. The City of Overland Park does not list its own municipal dog park
  • Best for a Leawood / northeast Johnson County visit: Leawoof at Leawood City Park, sunrise to sunset, with a Thursday morning maintenance closure
  • Best for trails plus water: Shawnee Mission (paved and natural trails to the beach) or Kill Creek Streamway (16 acres with stream access; fence completeness is disputed in reviews)
  • Best family combo: Heritage Park pairs the off-leash area with a 40-acre lake (leashed fishing and boating, not the dog pond), playgrounds, disc golf, and Heritage Park Golf Course. Leawoof sits in a 66-acre city park with playgrounds, sports fields, and greenway trailheads
  • Best trail pairing after a leashed walk: Kill Creek Streamway's 95th Street access is also a streamway trailhead; Leawoof is a short walk from Indian Creek and Tomahawk Greenway trailheads. Those greenways are leash-required

A note on rankings: we are not publishing numeric scores in this edition. We've built a scoring methodology internally that we plan to apply once we complete on-site field visits, so a future version of this guide will include verified, side-by-side ratings rather than directory-style guesses.

Shawnee Mission Park Off-Leash Area (Shawnee / Lenexa)

JCPRD operates four free off-leash areas: Shawnee Mission Park, Heritage Park, Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park, and Kill Creek Streamway Park. All four sit under the same Code of Conduct: dogs must be under control and in view, handlers are limited to three dogs, current vaccinations must be shown by visible tags, dogs under 12 weeks and females in heat are not allowed, spiked collars stay leashed, and food is prohibited. Aggressive dogs must be leashed and removed at the first sign of unprovoked serious aggression.

Shawnee Mission is the flagship. JCPRD lists a 44-acre off-leash area west of the 87th Street and Ridgeview entrance, with a paved trail to the lake and beach, wood-chip and natural trails through grassland and woods, paved parking, and restrooms. The parent park mailing address is 7900 Renner Road, Shawnee, KS 66219, on the JCPRD staff directory; county materials describe the park as spanning Shawnee and Lenexa. Hours follow the parent park, not a separate dog-park clock: 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. March 1–October 31, and 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. November 1–February 28. Maintenance closures are every Tuesday and Thursday, 5 a.m. to 9 a.m. Trespassing is prohibited when the gate is locked. No JCPRD page we reviewed charges a dog-park fee.

BringFido (listing titled Shawnee Mission Park, 4.3/5 from 9 reviews) and AllTrails (Shawnee Mission Lake Dog Park Trail, 4.7/5 from 280+ reviews) consistently praise the scale, woods, and swimming beach, and equally consistently warn about mud after rain and a busy weekend crowd. Several Google-syndicated reviews note that the walk to the water is downhill (and uphill on the way back) and that drinking water is limited once you leave the parking lot, so bring a bowl. JCPRD does not publish a small-dog yard here. Whether the off-leash perimeter is fully double-gated on every trail spur was not specified on the official facility page. Call JCPRD Visitor Services or Park Police non-emergency at 913-782-0720 if you need a recall-proof fence. The 120-acre lake's main swimming beach and marina are separate from the off-leash beach; do not mix those rules.

Shawnee Mission Park Off-Leash Area

Shawnee Mission Park Off-Leash Area

Shawnee / Lenexa, west of 87th & Ridgeview · Free; current vaccination tags required

Park profile →

Heritage Park Dog Off-Leash Area (Olathe)

Heritage is the south-county counterpart: a 27-acre off-leash complex inside a 1,239-acre park, now split into a 2.9-acre small-dog area and a 24.1-acre large-dog area after a 2025 renovation announced by Johnson County. Small dogs: up to 14 inches in height and less than 25 lb, honor system. The large-dog side is partitioned east/west so one half can stay open during maintenance.

JCPRD's directory lists 16050 Pflumm Road, Olathe, KS 66062; some county copy still says 16000 Pflumm. The off-leash parking lot, restrooms, and drinking fountains sit near South Black Bob Road and West 161st Street. JCPRD describes fenced open areas, a small pond, paved ADA loop trails, air-lock gates, and ADA parking. Hours follow Heritage Park: 5 a.m.–11 p.m. March 1–October 31; 7:30 a.m.–8 p.m. November 1–February 28. Weekly maintenance is Tuesdays 5–9 a.m. March 1–October 31, and 7:30–9 a.m. November 1–February 28. The Heritage off-leash restroom is one of the few JCPRD restrooms listed as remaining open in winter. No fee published.

BringFido (Heritage Park Dog Off-Leash Area, 16050 S Pflumm Rd, 4.5/5 from 10 reviews) praises the size and pond; reviewers also flag mud from fall through spring and a murky, algae-prone pond in late summer. Official copy says dogs may swim in designated off-leash areas under the Code of Regulations, and the facility page lists a small pond inside the large-dog area, but JCPRD does not publish a dog-swim approved or closed status for that pond. Confirm after heavy rain or if the water looks like scum or paint. The parent park's 40-acre lake is for leashed fishing and boating, not the dog pond.

Heritage Park Dog Off-Leash Area

Olathe, lot at S Black Bob & W 161st · Free; current vaccination tags required

Park profile →

Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park Off-Leash Area (Overland Park)

Stoll is the Overland Park address most locals mean when they say the OP dog park. JCPRD lists 12500 W. 119th Street, Overland Park, KS 66210, between Pflumm and Quivira: a fenced seven-acre off-leash area near the center of an 80-acre park, including a 1/3-acre small-dog yard (25 lb or under and/or 14 inches). Flat open space, paved trail, ample parking. Hours: dawn to dusk year-round. Maintenance: Wednesdays 5–9 a.m., March 15–November 15. No fee. Same JCPRD vaccination-tag rule.

A JCPRD facility notice describes a sinkhole and pond overflow-pipe replacement that lowers the fishing pond and closes trails around the pond, including the east pedestrian entrance. That work is about the parent-park pond, not explicitly the dog yard, but access patterns can shift. Check the facility page before you go. Google-syndicated reviews call it clean, a good middle size compared with Shawnee Mission, with benches, a water fountain, and a paved path; the recurring complaint is mud after rain. Third-party hours like 6:30 a.m.–8 p.m. are not official. Use dawn to dusk. Water inside vs. outside the fence was not specified on the official page; bring a bowl.

Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park Off-Leash Area

Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park Off-Leash Area

Overland Park, 119th between Pflumm and Quivira · Free; current vaccination tags required

Park profile →

Kill Creek Streamway Park Off-Leash Area (De Soto)

Western Johnson County's option is a 16-acre off-leash area at the 95th Street streamway access: 33460 W. 95th Street, De Soto, KS 66018 (south of K-10, off Kill Creek Road). JCPRD lists natural trail and stream access, a drinking fountain, and dawn-to-dusk, year-round hours. No maintenance window is published on the off-leash hub, unlike the other three. No fee.

A live facility alert said the Kill Creek Streamway Trail near De Soto was closed for asphalt-to-concrete replacement and a sinkhole repair. That is the shared-use trail, not automatically the off-leash yard; still, confirm access. BringFido (Kill Creek Streamway Dog Park, 4.0/5 from 2 reviews) is split: one reviewer calls it not fully fenced (fence stops at the ravine; dogs can slip around toward the creek), another calls it totally fenced with a small creek and deer trails. JCPRD's own page does not say fully fenced. Treat fence completeness as unverified. BringFido also mentions a small-dog run that is securely fenced; that small-dog run is not described on the current JCPRD off-leash hub, so we are not listing it as an official amenity until the district confirms.

Kill Creek Streamway Park Off-Leash Area

Kill Creek Streamway Park Off-Leash Area

De Soto, 95th Street streamway access · Free; current vaccination tags required

Park profile →

Leawoof Park (City of Leawood)

Leawoof is the only city-run off-leash park we verified in Johnson County. Official facility page: Leawoof Park, 10601 Lee Boulevard, Leawood, KS 66206, at the east end of Leawood City Park, across the Indian Creek bridge from the last parking lot. Hours: sunrise to sunset, closed Thursday 6 a.m.–10 a.m. for maintenance. The city may close it in extreme wet weather or after flooding. No entry fee published.

Rules are stricter than JCPRD's in a few places: dogs licensed in the city they reside, collars and ID/vaccination tags on at all times, 6-foot leash until inside the fence, maximum two dogs per visitor, handlers at least 12 years old, pinch/spike/choke collars banned, no food, no commercial trainers, and aggressive dogs and pit bull breeds prohibited per city ordinance 2-109. Puppies under four months, dogs in heat, and sick dogs are out. 2014 Johnson County Post coverage at opening described five acres, wood fencing, a one-acre small-dog side for dogs under 25 lb, and a double-gated bullpen. Current acreage and whether agility equipment is still installed were not restated on the 2026-era official facility page. Use the city page and the Statusfy closure feed the city links from that page.

Leawoof Park

Leawoof Park

East end of Leawood City Park, over the creek · Free; license and vaccination tags required

Park profile →

Parks We Could Not Verify as Off-Leash

Several well-known parks come up often in dog-park searches, but our source review did not confirm them as designated off-leash facilities, so we're not recommending them here:

  • City of Overland Park municipal parks: Stoll is JCPRD property inside Overland Park. The city's Parks and Recreation hub did not list a separate OP-run dog park
  • City of Shawnee municipal parks: Shawnee's animal FAQ states the city does not have dog runs in municipal parks and requires a leash in city parks. It points residents to Shawnee Mission Park. Yappy Hour at Shawnee Town is a ticketed, one-night fenced event, not a standing park
  • City of Olathe municipal parks: Olathe's parks directory does not list an open municipal dog park. A CIP/master-plan line item exists for a future off-leash area in an existing Olathe park; that is not a 2026 walk-up facility
  • Lenexa: no Lenexa-operated off-leash park was verified. Shawnee Mission's dog area is the Lenexa/Shawnee JCPRD option
  • Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Mission, Fairway, Merriam, Gardner: no municipal off-leash dog park was verified on those cities' park pages during this pass
  • Ernie Miller Park & Nature Center: JCPRD Code of Regulations bans dogs except trained service animals
  • Shawnee Mission Park lake (main beach/marina) and Heritage Park's 40-acre lake: those are not the off-leash yards. Stay inside the designated off-leash boundaries

Worth the Drive: Nearby Parks Outside the County

This is a Johnson County guide, not a Kansas City metro mega-guide. If you are already crossing a county line, Missouri-side options are documented in PetVet's St. Louis and St. Charles County guides. Wyandotte and Jackson County parks were not inventoried here. Do not assume Kansas City, Missouri, off-leash rules match JCPRD.

Browse all Johnson County dog parks

Permit & Tag Guide

Mixing up the rules is the fastest way to get turned away at the gate. None of the five parks in this guide publishes an annual membership or day pass.

The universal JCPRD requirement is current vaccinations, evidenced by visible tag(s). Whether staff check paperwork at the gate is not clearly published, so keep records in the car. Leawood adds a license from the city where the dog lives and posts a breed restriction that JCPRD does not. There is no reciprocity paperwork between JCPRD and Leawood; you do not buy a tag at one that admits you to the other. Keep a copy of vaccination records regardless. JCPRD Park Police non-emergency: 913-782-0720.

Kansas Seasonal Considerations

Johnson County's climate shapes the dog-park calendar more than most first-time visitors expect.

  • Heat and humidity: mid-continent summers get pavement-hot by late morning. Several parks have shade on trails (Shawnee Mission woods, Heritage trees) but limited confirmed shade in the big open yards. Bring water, and skip midday blacktop
  • Ticks, mosquitoes, and heartworm: Kansas veterinarians and public-health messaging treat heartworm and tick-borne disease as year-round risks. Peak tick activity is typically warm months; keep prevention current before wooded parks (Shawnee Mission, Kill Creek)
  • Mud season: reviewers flag Heritage and Stoll as mud-prone after rain; Shawnee Mission's dirt trails close or get ugly after storms. Leawood may close Leawoof in extreme wet weather. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday morning maintenance windows already take a bite out of weekday plans
  • Blue-green algae: KDHE's HAB program runs with water recreation season, roughly April 1–October 31, with a hotline 855-HAB-LAKE (855-422-5253). Shawnee Mission's off-leash beach and Heritage's small pond are not the same as named public lakes on the advisory list. If water looks like scum, paint, or bright green clumps, keep dogs out. KDHE notes Kansas dogs have died from HAB toxins
  • Winter: most JCPRD restrooms winterize mid-October to mid-April; Heritage's off-leash restroom is listed as remaining open. Shawnee Mission and Heritage hours shorten November 1–February 28. Leawoof water is often seasonal

Off-Leash Alternatives Beyond Dog Parks

Not every good dog outing needs a fenced dog park. A few nearby options are popular locally, but nearly all require a leash.

  • Mill Creek, Coffee Creek, Indian Creek, and Tomahawk greenways: excellent walking; JCPRD and city codes still require a leash outside designated off-leash boundaries. Electronic collars do not count as a leash under JCPRD's Code of Regulations
  • Kill Creek Park (the large park, not the streamway off-leash yard): trails and a lake; the designated 16-acre off-leash area is at the streamway 95th Street access, not automatically the whole park
  • Olathe and Shawnee city parks: leash required; Shawnee says so explicitly
  • Private yards and Sniffspot-style rentals: not inventoried here and not public parks

How to Prepare for Your Visit

A little prep goes a long way at any of these free parks.

  • Current vaccination records plus the rabies tag on the collar
  • Your own water and a collapsible bowl, especially at Shawnee Mission once you leave the lot and at Stoll if the fountain is off
  • Waste bags as a backup
  • A 6-foot leash (required at Leawoof until you are inside)
  • Tick and flea prevention before wooded visits
  • The JCPRD Park Police number and, for Leawoof, the city's Statusfy/closure link
  • Rain boots after wet weather

If your dog's records aren't current, a quick wellness visit gets everything park-ready.

Find a vet near you

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a permit or tag to use a dog park in Johnson County?

No paid JCPRD or Leawood dog-park membership was published. JCPRD requires current vaccinations with visible tags. Leawood requires vaccinations plus a municipal license from the city where the dog lives.

How much does a dog park membership cost?

We found no annual fee for these five parks. That is different from some Missouri-side membership parks in PetVet's St. Charles County guide.

Do I need proof of vaccination to enter a dog park?

Yes. JCPRD's Code of Conduct requires current vaccinations evidenced by tags. Leawood requires vaccinations and license tags worn at all times. Whether a ranger checks papers every visit is not published; bring records.

Which dog park is closest to downtown Overland Park / northeastern Johnson County?

Leawoof (10601 Lee Blvd) is the northeast-county city park. Stoll (12500 W. 119th) is the Overland Park JCPRD option, farther south. Shawnee Mission sits on the Shawnee/Lenexa line.

What dog parks are in Olathe?

The verified public off-leash area is Heritage Park. The City of Olathe has discussed a future municipal dog park in planning documents; it was not open as a listed city facility when this guide was researched.

Does Shawnee or Lenexa have a city dog park?

No municipal off-leash park was verified. Use Shawnee Mission Park's JCPRD off-leash area.

Does Overland Park have a city dog park?

Not a city-operated one we could verify. Stoll is the JCPRD off-leash area with an Overland Park address.

Which dog park has a swimming pond or lake?

Shawnee Mission has the documented lake/beach inside the off-leash area. Heritage has a small pond inside the large-dog area. Kill Creek Streamway has creek access. Confirm water quality (HAB, mud, ice) on the day you go.

Which dog parks have separate small- and large-dog areas?

Heritage (2.9 acres, 25 lb / 14 in), Stoll (1/3 acre, same cutoff), and Leawoof (historically a one-acre small-dog field under 25 lb). Shawnee Mission and Kill Creek Streamway: no official size split on current JCPRD pages.

Which dog park has agility equipment?

Leawoof is described with agility equipment on BringFido and in later coverage after an expansion. JCPRD pages for the four county parks do not list agility courses. Confirm on-site; equipment comes and goes.

What happens if my dog is aggressive?

JCPRD: leash and/or remove at the first sign of serious unprovoked aggression; owners are legally responsible. Leawood: aggressive dogs (and pit bull breeds under ordinance 2-109) are not allowed.

Can I take my dog off-leash on the streamway trails?

Only inside a designated off-leash area. Elsewhere in JCPRD facilities, dogs must be leashed. Ernie Miller Nature Park does not allow dogs except service animals.

Editorial Note and Methodology

This guide was built from primary sources: JCPRD off-leash, facility, hours, and Code of Regulations pages; City of Leawood Leawoof and City Park pages; City of Shawnee animal FAQs; City of Olathe parks/CIP materials; Johnson County government news on small-dog openings; KDHE harmful algal bloom pages; Reddit threads on r/Olathe, r/kansascity, and r/Overlandpark; and current public reviews on BringFido, AllTrails, Bark Park Finder, and Google-syndicated listings. We have not conducted in-person field visits, so details like exact bench counts, live fence lines at Kill Creek, Heritage pond water quality, and Leawoof agility equipment are flagged as items to confirm with the managing agency, not presented as firsthand observations.

Hours, fees, and amenities can change with little notice, especially around construction (Stoll pond pipe, Kill Creek trail, Heritage's 2025 rebuild). We'll revisit this guide as new information becomes available. If you notice something that's changed, let us know so we can correct it.

Keep reading

All articles